Skip to Main Content

Celebrate the Civic Season w/ BRI!

Our 2023-2024 Virtual MyImpact Challenge Fair is June 28th.

Sign-Up for the Link!

Congratulations to our 2023-2024 MyImpact Challenge winners!

Grand Prize - $10,000

Anna Kunkel
The Seven Hills School
Cincinnati, OH

For founding the Student Alliance for Immigrants and Refugees (SAIR) to support immigrants and refugees in Cincinnati with English education, welcome letters and baskets, a writing contest, and more. 

Principles Essay
Project Report
Photo Documentation
Video Documentation

First Prize - $7,500 

Sebastian Tan 
Sewickley Academy
Sewickley, PA 

For creating OutsideConnection, a job-listing website for the formerly incarcerated reentering society. 

Principles Essay
Project Report
Photo Documentation
Video Documentation

Second Prize - $5,000 

Grace Liu 
Syosset High School 
Syosset, NY   

For founding Research to Empower, which provides free training in research to underrepresented populations.  

Principles Essay
Project Report
Photo Documentation
Video Documentation

Third Prize - $2,500  

Brayden Pape 
Helix Charter High School
La Mesa, CA 

 For founding the PATH Interscholastic Leadership Team (PILT) to combat homelessness in San Diego County in coalition with People Assisting the Homeless (PATH). 

Principles Essay
Project Report
Photo Documentation
Video Documentation 

Honorable Mentions - $1,500  

Alec Avedissian  
Harvard-Westlake School 
Studio City, CA 

For founding Impact Academy to connect nonprofit organizations with teens who can provide social media services as a community service. 

Sailee Charlu  
Orange County School of the Arts 
Santa Ana, CA 

For founding the afterschool program Habla Arte to provide education in the arts and public speaking in the Spanish language. 

Saheb Nibber, Sergei Kudriavtcev, and Omar Reyes 
The Awty International School 
Houston, TX 

For founding Impact Lab to sponsor non-coding "hackathons" where young people can brainstorm solutions to societal problems. 

Madison Poulson 
Mooresville High School 
Mooresville, IN  

For founding the Pioneer Passion Project, a nonprofit networking carnival to connect the families of special needs individuals to organizations that provide services.  

Sanjana Senthil 
Carroll Senior High School 
Southlake, TX 

For founding the Kathai Teen Literary Organization to amplify student voices in publishing and literary space. This includes the Kathai Literary Journal, which is entirely written and edited by teens. 

Savina Wang  
Arnold Beckman High School 
Irvine, CA 

For founding KidzLaunch to host camps and workshops to train children in entrepreneurship. 

Special Awards - $500 

Lara Cakir 
John P. Stevens High School 
Edison, NJ  

For founding the social enterprise business Puppi Slimes to sell vats of squishable slime to benefit customers’ mental health and donating a share of her profits to charitable causes.  

Saawan Duvvuri and Jayaa Bheemarasetti 
University School of Nashville 
Nashville, TN 

For founding LiteratureDiversified to promote diversity in English and Social Studies curricula. 

Archishma Marrapu and Anisha Marrapu 
Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology 
Alexandria, VA 

For founding STEMifyGirls to train women and girls in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). 

Jenna Reynolds 
Humphreys High School 
U.S. Army Garrison Humphreys, South Korea 

For founding the Preparing Refugees in English Project in conjunction with her local YMCA to teach English to North Korean defectors.  

Lauren Schroeder 
Calamus-Wheatland High School 
Wheatland, IA 

For planting a large fruit and vegetable garden on her parents' farm and donating 7,025 pounds of produce worth $15,324 to eight local non-profits to feed the hungry. 

Teacher Prizes 

Teacher Grand Prize (Teacher of Grand Prize Winner) - $500 

Katie Swinford  
The Seven Hills School 
Cincinnati, OH 

Teacher Support Prize - $500
Awarded to the teacher generating the most student entries.  

Maria Kann  
New Oxford Middle School 
New Oxford, PA  

Teacher Submission Prizes - $250 
Awarded to teachers who generated three or more student entries.

Priscilla Deaver 
Mount Logan Middle School 
Logan, UT 

Tremayne Gibson 
Dr. Ronald E. McNair Academic High School 
Jersey City, NJ 

Joshua Lopes 
Hanson Middle School 
Hanson, MA 

Michael Mason 
Webster Groves High School  
Webster Groves, MO 

Brad Rice 
Carleton Washburne School 
Winnetka, IL 

Amanda Rubenstein 
AR Academics 
San Juan Capistrano, CA