Skip to Main Content
This is a map showing the English, Dutch, French, and Spanish colonies on the Atlantic coast and the dates of their settlement, as well as the names of Indian tribes inhabiting those areas. English colonies are New Hampshire 1623, Massachusetts Bay 1629 to 1630, Plymouth 1620, Rhode Island 1636 to 1643, Connecticut 1636 to 1639, New Haven 1636 to 1664, Pennsylvania 1681, Maryland 1634, Virginia 1606 to 1607, Carolina 1663, and Georgia 1732. Dutch colonies are New Netherlands 1624 and New Sweden 1638. French colony is New France 1534. Spanish colony is Florida 1513. Indian tribes inhabiting these colonized areas are Penobscot, Abenaki, Kennebec, Narragansett, Pequot, Mohawk, Oneida, Huron, Ottawa, Seneca, Onondaga, Cayuga, Iroquois, Tuscarora, Delaware, Western Delaware, Shawnee, Upper Cherokee, Middle Cherokee, Lower Cherokee, Catawba, Yamasee, Upper Natchez, Lower Natchez, Creek.

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness U.S. History Resource – Introductory Essays

720 minutes

16 Items