Skip to Main Content

Constitution Day Live 2021 | Liberty & Equality

How do liberty and equality interact in the Constitution? On Friday, September 17th from 10:30 AM to 3:00 PM ET, the Bill of Rights Institute streamed this live event and welcomed scholars, thinkers, and teachers to explore the relevancy of the Constitution today. How can we work to balance liberty and equality in our communities? Where do tensions arise between the two principles, and what tools from the Constitution can we use to work toward resolution?

10:30 AM ET/7:30 AM PT: Opening with Dr. David Bobb, President of the Bill of Rights Institute.
11:00 AM ET/8:00 AM PT: BRIdge from the Past with Jeremy Ray, Director of Interpretation at George Washington's Mount Vernon. 11:40 AM ET/8:40 AM PT: Teaching Today with Victor Harris, Department Chair and Teacher, Sycamore Junior High School Cincinnati, Ohio.
12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT: Close Read with Anastasia Boden, practicing Constitutional lawyer at the Pacific Legal Foundation.
12:40 PM ET/9:40 AM PT: Teaching Today with Kathy Hagee, James Madison Fellow, Teacher at San Domenico School in San Anselmo, California.
12:50 PM ET/9:50 AM PT: Teaching Today with Cynthia Bader, 4th grade teacher, National Cathedral School, Washington, DC.
1:00 PM ET/10:00 AM PT: Scholar Talk with Carol Berkin, distinguished historian, author, and expert on the American Revolution and women’s history.
2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT: Fabric of History with Nick Capodice, co-host and Education Outreach Producer for the podcast, Civics 101.
3:00 PM ET/12:00 PM PT: Closing with BRI Staff.